top of page

Physical Distancing and Mental Health

I have been depressed and busy, and when I have some down time my family hogs it. Oh my God...I've missed us.

I wanted to talk about physical distancing and the very real toll it is taking on our mental health. Maybe some of you already struggled (hai!) or you're new to this kind of ableism. You do not need to be necessarily disabled to experience ableism, however, so let's talk about that.

First of all, we need to allow 6 ft between each other, which is a lot. We're not allowed to touch, it goes without saying. This is actually very detrimental to our mental health. Touch is healing, and when it's taken away, we notice. We also notice when people fall through the cracks, like sexworkers. Not only do we miss our clients, we miss the joy of filling an erotic fantasy. I miss curling up in someone's arms after an earth-shattering orgasm. TMI? Too bad.

Sexworkers are caught up in all of it, and to my colleagues and admirers, I probably don't need to tell you anything without sounding preachy. But for the unfortunates who have moved through the world abled and mobile and all of a sudden find themselves at home, bored out of their minds, maybe with kids, maybe with a spouse, I feel you. This is a tough time to be a parent or partner. The people in charge are acting as though this is normal. I need you to know that this is not normal. This lie is a form of ableism. I also need you to know that the people in charge are probably reacting exactly the same way as everybody else. It's a normal human reaction. Just, please don't be a toxic garbage person because nobody wants to be around that attitude.

Here are a few things you can do to lift your mood and quiet your reptile brain:

1)Morning yoga or exercise. Doesn't need to be amazing, just get your body moving. Child's pose and a deep breath will do.

2) Drink water throughout the day. This should be a no-brainer but for me it isn't, and I'm guessing there are many more like me.

3) Eat regularly. Also should be a no-brainer, but since time has stopped meaning anything, I'm guessing more schedules will be thoroughly screwed.

4) Meditate before bed.

We will get through this, and be stronger for it. Solidarity.

Xoxo,

Olivia

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Twitter
bottom of page