top of page

US Must Win This Match (and the Jays have to start winning, too)

OK.

So we lost. I'm ok with that. You can't win 'em all. But for serious, the Jays need to win starting tomorrow. That's all I have to say about baseball.

On a much more serious note, US footballers will face the Belgians, who have been a strong side in the World Cup. I really think these Americans need to pull up their socks if they're going to win, because unless the early goal didn't happen, I truly do think they face elimination at this stage.

Belgium, on the other hand, has guts. That's really all you need in my book.

Curiously, this is turning into a rather white Viking tournament - we have Germany in there with the Netherlands and Belgium - who are all as-yet-unappreciated teams who play well together. Then we have the South Americans - Argentinia, Croatia, Brazil - the USA is in the middle of nowhere in this division of rivalries and no-one really likes them anyway. Sorry but it's true. I'm American and I can understand why the Brazilians aren't so keen. Cause it's fucking Brazil, and who are you coming in here with your American dollars and your English, por favor?

I mean, most Americans know how to speak Spanish. Just do it.

Sooooooo, who's excited for the US - BEL matchup on Tuesday? Well, myself for one. I think it'll be fun. I think it'll be played hard, but fairly, with no nonsense tolerated by the referee. Just like the beautiful game should be played. We owe football (ok, ok...soccer) that much.

May the best side win!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Twitter
bottom of page