top of page

On being a part time sexworker


Hi all,

I've been meaning to write for a while now about being a part time sexworker. I won't name names, but it seems like some of us involved in the fight for sex workers to be treated with dignity and as people only do sexwork full time, and that is great, but if we shut out people who could be allies we really only hurt ourselves.

I've been a part time sexworker for a couple of weeks now, and it's treating me fairly well. I insist that people prebook because I have space that I rent and if they don't show up then I have no money with which to pay the rent, but if I have a good evening I have a really good evening, and it's safe.

Which brings me to the key to being a successful independent courtesan. Agencies can pump out reviews, etc, but indies are often very isolated, and renting a room in a hotel can seem frustrating, especially when that hotel is 1 King St West and you end up having a bad day. There is a loose collective of girls who work out of that same location. We all treat each other with respect, and we can actually talk about the challenges of being a courtesan in a city of courtesans, which is often quite fun. Also, my civie job is 9-5 so it means I can often get quite a lot done and relax when I don't feel like working in the evening.

There are men who are ending up seeing me weekly, either for outcalls or incalls. There are people who know exactly where my space is and so feel more comfortable there because they know one of the other girls. But even if I end up getting charged with pimping out another girl, we are working together in an environment we know to be safe, where we can yell and something will definitely happen.

People constantly say to me, "Be safe," and I know they mean it well. But I have so much love and respect around me I could not possibly help but be safe.

Xoxo,

Olivia

9 views
Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Twitter
bottom of page