top of page

Lucky Number 13, SexWorkers' Rights and Wow


Hello all,

I realize it has been a time since last I wrote, but since today is Friday the 13th, I thought I really ought to write something. So let's focus on this past Sunday's NYT article, and the laws that are currently being debated in Scotland.

I cannot be out to my family, so I would like to thank all of you who appeared in the NYT article, and my thanks also goes to Emily Bazelon who, whatever your stance on sexwork itself, wrote with respect and dignity about the people doing it, which I cannot stress enough is so important. So thank you. This being run in the NYT sparked a controversy and a dialogue which sexworkers have been working towards forever, and which faith-based groups have been trying their best to ignore - that is, that people deserve to work in a place of safety no matter what they do. I shared the article on my personal Facebook and one of my friends was like, "Oh my God, it's so complex...what an issue!" I was glad I had her thinking about it but at the same time kind of infuriated that she didn't say, "No, of course not" because I've been in it for so long. She did say she was confused and I was all like, "YES!!!!" Nevertheless, I think since sexwork has gone mainstream, politicians will start paying attention to what other countries do in terms of policy. Which brings us to the UK and Scotland.

Scotland just recently held a hearing in which three former sexworkers and one current sexworker advised the hearing on how exactly to go about crafting new laws for sexwork. The retired sexworkers, to their credit, did tell the committee to listen to the voices of current sexworkers, which I think is really important. Current sexworkers were not listened to in Canada, and it is imperative that they be listened to in Scotland. Scotland seems more liberal than Canada was at the time, so here's hoping. I may just tour the UK if this law is passed, because lawmakers in Westminster seem to be so uninterested in sexwork it is truly refreshing.

Sexworkers deserve rights because everyone else takes them for granted. Just this month, I had to grapple with the issue of whether or not to report a creepy guy, once a prospective client. I sent him a strongly worded email in lieu of going to the police. I would not be thrilled about outing myself to them.

If you are someone who values justice, the Charter of Rights and Freedoms, and liberty for all, please support us as we fight for our rights. When other nations judge us, they judge on how we treat our most vulnerable and marginalized populations. That cannot happen until sexworkers and trans people achieve the right to be free and to have security of the person.

This has been a lot of real talk today, but this is a significant date. Please help us, in whatever way you can. One day, it will happen.

Xoxo,

Olivia

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Twitter
bottom of page